Western Region

Beckham in San Diego, CA

Beckham is a sweet Cavalier who loves to be with his people. He is markedly spry, so his foster mom thinks he could be a little younger than the age he is supposed to be.

 

Beckham is a wonderful, snuggly, adorable, guy; he loves to eat grass, barks at dogs he doesn't know (but not Cavaliers!). He trots along with a bounce in his step on walks, makes little chirpy cries like a bird when he's anxious. He follows his foster mom everywhere, stares lovingly in her eyes and she says he is totally lovable. Beckham is friendly with everyone. He loves other dogs. He does well riding in the car. Beckham is a perfect little gentleman.

Beckham does some "air scratching" that can be a symptom of SM. He is on medications that help and the meds aren't expensive. He tolerates the medicine well and doesn't appear to be in pain and lives a very normal dog life. Step in halters and raised food dishes can help pups with neck and shoulder tenderness. A good vet who knows about the disease is important. Beckham is also hearing impaired, which is common for a Cavalier of his age. Beckham will qualify for our Sharecare program to help offset the cost of his meds. Click here to learn more about ShareCare.

Beckham likes to watch TV, but he will bark if he sees animals on screen. He understands hand motions to come, sit, and stay, so communication is easy, despite his hearing impairment. He enjoys sleeping by himself on the couch or chair. A nice dog bed is always a good idea also. He likes to go for short walks, explore the back yard, and eat! To slow the eating process he has a compartmented bowl. If the other dogs eat too slow that is an open invitation for Beckham to help them, despite his only having 4 teeth.

Beckham will thrive in a family where someone is home much of the time and where he has another dog for companionship. He’ll be happiest without cats. If you would like to consider adopting this boy, please complete our online application. After you fill out the online application, please contact Donna at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and let her know of your interest.

Stats

  • Color: Tri-Color
  • Age: 10
  • Weight: 20 lbs.
  • Sex: Male
  • House Training: Good
  • Medical Conditions: Possible Syringomyelia, hearing impaired
  • Temperament: Sweet gentleman

  • Recommendations: Someone who is home most of the time and another dog companion.
  • Location: San Diego, CA
  • Region: Western