Western Region

One Eye Jack in Lakewood, CO

One Eye Jack needs a new home. His mom moved overseas and did not want to put him through the quarantine process.

Jack is a happy 10-year-old boy. He does well with women. He is good with most men, but occasionally will meet a man he does not care for. He has very good leash manners and is a faithful boy. Jack follows his foster mom everywhere he can. When she leaves the house, he doesn't make a fuss, but waits by the door for her to return.

As with many Cavaliers, he does love a good nap. He also will run around in the yard and enjoys playing with a small tennis ball. He does not play fetch – he entertains himself with the ball.

Jack has a grade III/VI heart murmur with pulmonary hypertension. He is on one heart medication. He also has some nerve degeneration in his back which makes his gait a bit floppy. He is on two medications for that. The total cost of all three medications is a little under $75 a month. Please note this cute boy is eligible for our ShareCare program, which you can read about here: ShareCare

He weighs 22 pounds and should lose a couple more pounds.2

Jack is current on vaccinations, is neutered and is microchipped. While in foster care, Dr. Lake-Bakaar (board certified veterinary cardiologist) did a heart exam and echo on him. While in foster care, he had dental.

Between only having one eye and the nerve degeneration, Jack will not go up or down more than one step. Ideally he would like a home without steps to go up and down for potty breaks. Jack is house trained and has not had any accidents in foster care.

Due to his age and only having one eye, it would be best not to put Jack in a home with children. He would like a quiet home. He peacefully coexists with the resident foster dogs. He doesn’t play with them but doesn’t have any issues with them either.

If you are interested in adding Jack to your home, please complete an online application and contact Carolyn at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


  • Color: Ruby
  • Age: 10
  • Birthday: April 23, 2007
  • Weight: 22 lbs (needs to lose a couple more pounds)
  • Sex: Male
  • House Training: Yes, perfect
  • Medical Conditions: Grade 3 murmur with pulmonary hypertension and some nerve degeneration in his back. Missing one eye. Recent dental so teeth are in good shape.
  • Temperament: Over all happy. Loves women. Follows his people as much as possible.
  • Recommendations: A quiet home without a lot of stairs. No children. A fenced yard would be a bonus. He’s okay with other dogs, but doesn’t interact much with them.
  • Location: Lakewood, CO
  • Region: Western

Additional information