Southern Region

Nash in Murfreesboro, TN

Update 12-14-17: We've received a number of good applications for Nash, so aren't taking more for now. Thank you and Happy Holidays!

Nash is a loving and very sweet 2-year-old boy that seems wise beyond his years. His past is uncertain, but his future looks bright! At just about 16 pounds, Nash could stand to gain some weight, which he is currently working on. He has learned there are treats upon returning from his walks, and he gladly but gently accepts them from your fingertips while lightly brushing his soft muzzle against your hand. His whole body wiggles when he sees his people.

Nash loves being outside and will sit longingly at the back door and look out, or stand on his hind legs to look out the window. Once outside, he gingerly walks and looks about for anything that moves, including airplanes. Barking at airplanes is important! Nash also barks at cats and is anxious to chase, so a home with no cats is prudent. He is very good with small children who are respectful. He may have been mistreated in his previous life, as he yelps if unexpectedly bumped into, even slightly.

Nash is in excellent health. He has a mild luxating patella in the left rear leg but this seems to cause no problems. He is neutered, microchipped, and up to date on vaccinations. He may have been crated for lengthy periods of time previously, as his hind legs were a little atrophied upon intake, but he is showing great improvement. He loves to go on walks, which is very important for him to remain healthy and happy, and needs lengthy enough walks to complete all his duties. A little more work on Nash’s housetraining would be helpful, as he is currently being walked about every 2 to 3 hours just to ensure his potty training. He also will benefit with some training to walk properly when leashed, instead of pulling, and also other basic skills like “sit”, “stay”, etc. Nash rides well in the car and prefers the back seat. He wants help getting in, but will lie down and be a good boy during the ride. As always, crate or seat belt for safety!

  

Nash likes to be in your lap, but may need a little coaxing and reassurance that it’s okay to jump up. He sometimes wants to be helped up, and is often more comfortable beside you or on the floor where it’s cooler. He’s a bit of a timid eater and needs a little reassurance when eating, also. Eating out of your hand helps to get him started eating from the dish. He does enjoy his meals and is currently eating a high quality food.

Nash is a playful boy who enjoys his squeaky toys and a sibling or two to pal around with. Nash loves to play chase with his foster sister, and can outrun and outmaneuver her. He sleeps well at night in the crate with his foster sister in the master bedroom. He likes to lie in his bed during the day in the living room, or on the floor. He wants to play with the other neighborhood dogs he meets, and has yet to meet a stranger. The ideal situation for Nash would be for someone to be home most of the time, or have a fenced yard. Nash is a bit of an escape artist, so he should be monitored if off leash at any time. Nash is a charmer!

If you live within 2 hours drive time of Nashville and are able to provide Nash with the care and loving home he needs and deserves, please complete our online application and then email Rescue Coordinator Liz Nigh regarding your interest at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. If you have already completed an application online, there is no need to re-apply, just email Liz. Thank you!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Stats

  • Color: Ruby
  • Birthday: 11/01/2015
  • Weight: 16 lbs
  • Sex: Male
  • House Training: : Yes, but still requires frequent potty breaks.
  • Medical Conditions: Healthy
  • Temperament: Very sweet, playful and happy. A little timid but loves everyone.
  • Recommendations: A home that will engage his playfulness, while assuring him of a safe environment. He would love another dog (no cats) to play with as it would help with his development. Mainly, he needs his people to be home most of the time, and to be able to be outdoors or go for walks regularly.
  • Location: Murfreesboro, TN
  • Region: Southern

Additional information