Northeast Region

King in Philadelphia, PA

Just Adopted!

Here is King with his new family...

Hi I'm King and I came into rescue because my family didn't have enough time for me due to some life changes. I'm a neutered, ruby boy and I will turn 2 in January. I like to snuggle on the couch, in the big bed, or on your lap, and will be your shadow everywhere you go. I like to give kisses and "smush" as my foster mom calls it, by pressing my body into your body and my face into your face. 

I'm just a sweet, gentle guy that wants to be loved. While in foster care, I learned potty training and basic manners like sit and down, but will need continued training and reinforcement in my forever home. I'm an energetic young guy that loves walks, runs, going to the dog park, and playing with dogs my own size. I love to meet new people and dogs and thrive in a busy environment that will stimulate my mind. Initially when meeting new people I can be shy, but I warm up quickly. I am crate-trained and will stay in the crate while you are gone and will sleep there willingly.

I do have grade 1 luxating patellas but they do not need treatment.  However it is important that I be kept at a healthy weight.  I am a long, tall guy and the vets think I’m perfect for my size.

I am very gentle with children of all ages and will sit for pets or snuggle with them on the couch or bed. I do have some resource guarding issues when it comes to my favorite toys, person, or snuggle spot, but I am working on my manners and starting to understand that it isn’t polite. I would do best in a home as an only dog with frequent interaction with other dogs, or in a home with a young female dog.

If you think that you would be a good family for me and live within 3 hours if Philadelphia, PA, please complete an online application and email Melissa MacMullin(This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.) to let her know that you are interested.


  • Color: Ruby
  • Age: 2
  • Birthday: January 2nd
  • Weight: 18 lbs
  • Sex: Male
  • House Training: Yes
  • Medical Conditions: Healthy, Grade 1 Luxating Patellas
  • Temperament: Loving and sweet, Shy at first but warms up quickly
  • Recommendations: Would do well as an only dog or with another young female dog. A family that can provide frequent socialization.
  • Location: Philadelphia, PA
  • Region: Northeast

Additional information