Northeast Region

Gary in New England

Meet Gary, a sweet, playful, Tri-Color, recently neutered, 8-year-old boy. Gary came to rescue due to family financial issues. He adjusted to his foster home quickly, and with his personality, his foster family quickly fell in love. 

 

He is fun-loving and doesn’t let his arthritis hold him back (except for stairways with more than a few stairs). He enjoys playing with his foster sibling, but can entertain himself alone with his toys, which he loves! Gary enjoys walks and napping next to his foster sibling. Being outside is about his favorite thing (other than eating and snuggling with the family). He has a fenced in yard and loves to play ball and soft frisbee (in limited doses), and is happy just sniffing around. 

 

Because he is hearing impaired, he sleeps very soundly and is the last one to get up in the morning; he wakes up happy, loving and with kisses. He is smart and is learning hand signals and also takes visual cues from his foster sister. A home with another hearing dog would be of benefit to him.

Gary gets excited for rides in the car and is always looking for an opportunity to travel. Just pick up the keys, and off to the door he goes hoping to be included. He sits calmly and waits while he gets his eye drops in both eyes, twice per day. Gary happily hops in his crate at night and looks forward to his good night cookie.

 

He can be a bit of a scamp, and enjoys finding a dropped piece of paper towel, chasing leaves outside, and hiding his toys in the house. He has been nothing but sweet and willing to please from the moment he came to his foster home. If you want a true, stay close to you, loving companion, who is also confident enough to be left alone, then Gary is the perfect fit!

If you are interested in adopting Gary and live in New England, please complete our online application if you haven’t already and then contact Barbara at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. so she knows of your interest.

Stats

  • Color: Tri-Color
  • Age: 8
  • Weight: 20 lbs
  • Sex: Male
  • House Training: Completely house-trained and crate trained
  • Medical Conditions: Hearing impaired, dry eye (drops twice/day), Arthritis left rear leg
  • Temperament: Friendly; very sweet, fun-loving, clever
  • Recommendations: Fenced in yard and limited number of stairs. An adult only home where someone is home a good part of the day, and with another small, hearing dog. Someone who will leash walk him to ensure he continues to get exercise, and who is willing to continue training him with hand signals.
  • Location: New England
  • Region: Northeast

Additional information